Faculty Committees

Committee on Education and Training (CET)

CET reviews and submits recommendations on the quality, criteria, and minimum standards for education and training in the following areas:

  • Oral and maxillofacial surgery residency programs accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation
  • Training in oral and maxillofacial surgery for pre-doctoral students in accredited schools of dentistry
  • Post-residency fellowships in oral and maxillofacial surgery

The committee also reviews the Faculty Educator Development Award (FEDA) applications and presents recommended recipients to the AAOMS Board of Trustees for funding. In addition, the award guidelines are continually reviewed, evaluated and updated in accordance with policy.

OMS Faculty Section Executive Committee (FSEC)

The Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Faculty Section Executive Committee obtains input from OMS faculty on education and training issues and advises the Committee on Education and Training. The committee's main activities include:

  • Presenting an annual forum on faculty, education and training issues
  • Convening an annual meeting of section members to seek their comments on issues to be presented to or addressed by the CET